The Deal Real Era according to IBMCs

IMBC-flyers DEALREAL

Deal Real records was a record shop in London Soho. It gained a reputation as one of the focal points of the London Hip Hop scene, with many cipher sessions both outside and inside the tiny floor space of the shop, spilling out into the street, and plenty of American artists coming through for in-store performances. This was a special time in the history of UK Hip Hop and I remember it as a very good energy and experience. I’m sure someone else had already made the comparison, but where the original UK scene congregated in Covent Garden, some of that energy was also present at Deal Real.

Only once did I go in the original store, but later I moved from Amsterdam to London and at the Marlborough Court store I worked, mostly in the basement doing web stuff. When I first went there I met Sef, Tony and Vincent, and upon explaining that I had just arrived in London and was broke and needed work, they took me out for a meal. This was an act of kindness I did not forget, and Sef also helped me get another job when work at the store had dried up. I have since lost track of Sef and the other Deal Real managers.

Recently, Deal Real has returned as a pop-up store.

Deal Real Legacy
http://www.dealreal.co.uk/

About IBMCs

IBMCs is a multimedia organisation working on various projects to expose and promote the phenomenon of worldwide Hip Hop culture. We have been researching, archiving, promoting and producing international Hip Hop since 1998.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

